Ahead of the ICC World Cup 2023, the International Cricket Council announced the names of the former cricketers, icons, and cricket experts for the commentary panel. The stellar commentary panel line includes former head coach of the Indian team Ravi Shastri, legendary Indian cricket Sunil Gavaskar, World Cup-winning captain Ricky Ponting, and more. The announcement of the commentators who will enhance the experience of watching ICC World Cup 2023 matches on television, was made on Friday, September 29, 2023. If you also think commentators play an important role in cricket matches or you love to hear voices from some particular commentators during cricket matches, this article is for you. Kindly follow it till the end for more details.

ravi shastri
© Getty

ICC Released Commentators’ List For ICC World Cup 2023

ICC World Cup 2023 is scheduled to kick start on October 5, 2023. The first match of this highly-anticipated tournament will be played between the runners-up and champions of the previous ODI World Cup, New Zealand, and England respectively, at the Narendra Modi stadium. As mentioned above, ICC revealed names for the commentary panel in the upcoming ODI World Cup, some names made fans extremely excited to hear their voices during the nail-biting matches. A few World Cup-winning players are included in the commentary panel such as Shane Watson, Ricky Pointing, Ravi Shastri, Sunil Gavaskar, Matthew Hayden, Ramiz Raza, Lisa Sthalekar, and Aaron Finch.

The commentators who were commentating during the nail-biting and controversial final match of the ICC World Cup 2019 between England and New Zealand, such as Nasser Hussain, Ian Bishop, and Ian Smith are also included in the panel. There are more cricket icons in the extensive list of commentators revealed by ICC such as Waqar Younis, Anjum Chopra, Michael Atherton, Shaun Pollock, and more. Continue reading this article and unveil more names who will be in the commentary box in the ICC World Cup 2023.

The one-month-long tournament obviously needs plenty of commentators in the commentary box as from the pre-match broadcasting to the post-match shows, commentators will have to cover the matches for hours continuously. Thus, ICC added some more names to the list of commentators such as  Simon Doull, Sanjay Manjrekar, Mpumelelo Mbangwa, Katey Martin, Dirk Nannes, Dinesh Karthik, Samuel Badree, Russel Arnold, and Athar Ali Khan. The leading and acclaimed broadcasters Harsha Bhogle, Kass Naidoo, Mark Nicholas, Natalie Germanos, Mark Howard, and Ian Ward are also rounded off with the aforementioned commentators. Stay tuned with us.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here