On Wednesday, the government informed that they identified 170 districts as coronavirus hotspot districts across the country. These divisions are made to ease the process and will be followed till May 3. The districts where either the absolute number of coronavirus positive cases reported or the rate of growth of cases is high or doubling time is low have been termed as hotspots. They have classified 170 hotspot districts in the Red Zone, while 207 non-hotspot districts with clusters as Orange. Though Non-hotspot areas also have positive cases but their number is limited. While the non-infected districts have been classified as Green Zone.

The 170 hotspot districts include all six metros, Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad and Bengaluru. Tamil Nadu tops the list with 22 districts in the hot spots while Rajasthan and Maharashtra remain at second position with 11 each. Tamil Nadu’s main spots are Madurai, Tuticorin, Chennai, Salem, Cuddalore, Coimbatore, Erode, and Vellore, Delhi has 9 outbreak districts. Andhra Pradesh has 11 hotspots including Visakhapatnam, Karnataka has three including Bengaluru urban, Mysore, Belagavi, Kerala has six including Kasaragod and Kannur, Telangana has eight including Hyderabad, Nizamabad, and Warangal, Bihar has one hot spot in Siwan, while the entire Chandigarh is being included.

corona news india

Chhattisgarh has Korba, Gujarat with five including Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, and Rajkot, Haryana has four with one being Gurugram. Whereas Jammu and Kashmir includes five including Srinagar, Jammu, and Baramulla, Madhya Pradesh has five including Bhopal, Indore, and Ujjain, Maharashtra has 11 including Mumbai, Pune, Sangli, Nashik, Thane, Nagpur, Aurangabad, Odisha has only Khordha, Punjab has four including SAS Nagar, Jalandhar, and Pathankot, Rajasthan has 11 including Jaipur, Jodhpur, Tonk, Jaisalmer, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bharatpur, and Kota, Uttar Pradesh has nine hotspots including Noida, Lucknow, Shamli, Firozabad, Moradabad, Saharanpur, Ghaziabad, Meerut, and Agra, Uttarakhand has Dehradun. While West Bengal has four including Kolkata and Howrah.

The Health Ministry asked all states to roll out strict lockdown and containment measures in the red zone districts to enable these to turn orange and finally green. Likewise, the Centre has asked states to ramp up testing and contact tracing in the orange zone. The idea is to prevent these districts from turning red. It is to be noted that, India has reached a total of 12,380 infections, while the death toll reached 414. So these will function better to contain the Covid-19 infection.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here