Here is another victory of Nepal’s Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba who won the election of the President of the Nepali Congress on Wednesday, December 15, 2021. Sher Bahadur Deuba re-elected Prime Minister as the President of Nepal. According to the sources, the election process was completed at 09:30 PM on Tuesday where a total of 4,564 votes were cast in the second phase of polling.

Nepal PM Sher Bahadur Deuba Elected as New National Congress President

After the counting continues till midnight, the result was announced on Wednesday morning. According to the result by Election Committee, President Sher Bahadur Deuba got 2,733 votes while on the other side, his opponent, Shashank Koirala got 1,855 votes and the remaining 35 votes were declared as void.

Sher Bahadur Deuba Elected as New National Congress President

Well, Shashank Koirala is the nephew of former Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala. The election officer, Sunil Pandey said,” the electoral body is yet to announce the results officially but the PM Sher Bahadur Deuba has been elected for the second tenure as party President”.

Along with this, he defeated his opponent, Dr. Shekhar Koirala. He was the only opponent while other presidential candidates gave up in the second phase of the election. Well, the first phase couldn’t decide the president as any of the five contestants a clear majority in this election more than 50% votes.

Prakash Man Singh and Bimalendra Nidhi decided to support Deuba in the second phase of the election which made his victory easier. On Tuesday, the contestants of the Nepali Congress party votes the second time to elect the party president. Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, Dr. Shekhar Koirala, Bimalendra Nidhi, Prakash Man Singh, and Kalyan Gurung were the candidates in this election that took place on Monday under the 14th General Convention.

Well, if we talk about the results of the first phase so, Deuba got 2258 votes, Bimalendra Nidhi got 249 votes, Dr. Koirala got 1702 votes, Prakash Man Singh got 371 votes and Kalyan Gurung got 22 votes. Well, the counting is still underway and there is no one who got 50 percent of the total votes.

Deuba is one of the most leading Prime Ministers of Nepal and serving the nation since 1997. He has been serving as the Prime Minister of Nepal since July 13, 2021, and also, has already served four terms as the Prime Minister.

He is 75-years-old and serving as a Prime Minister of Nepal. Born on June 13, 1946, in Ashigram, Dadeldhura, Nepal. He became a member of the Nepali Congress party before 2002 and was also a member of the Nepali Congress Party (Democratic).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here