NASA’s two astronauts to perform a spacewalk on Thursday

0
195
views
NASA, space walk

The Expedition 55 crew is now gearing up for a spacewalk. As per the report, two astronauts of the Expedition are now getting their suits to carry out a spacewalk on Thursday outside the International Space Station (ISS). Recently the two astronauts have filled spacesuit tanks and examined warning systems. NASA’s astronauts Ricky Arnold and Drew Feustel will perform the spacewalk. On March 29, the duo will spend around 6.5 hours to install Tranquility module’s communications antennas.

Nasa, astronaut, space shuttle

As per the information, Arnold and Feustel will also replace a cameras system on the port one truss structure. On Thursday, they will start the spacewalk at around 8:10 a.m. ET (5:40 p.m. IST). The live coverage of the event will be broadcasted through NASA TV at 6:30 a.m. ET (4:00 p.m. IST).After the event, it will be the seventh spacewalk for Feustel and Arnold it will be the third spacewalk.

On the other side, Norishige Kanai and Scott Tingle, two flight engineers will continue training to capture the SpaceX Dragon resupply cargo using the robotic arms of the Canadarm2. Kanai will look after the robotic controls inside the cupola and Tingle will supervise Dragon capsule’s approach and rendezvous.  

As per the information, the Dragon resupply cargo will be launched on Monday, and it will arrive at the International Space Station on Wednesday. It will carry crew supplies, science gear, spacewalking equipment and other hardware weighing around 5,800 pounds.  Both the event will be telecasted live on NASA TV.

On Wednesday, at around 9:50 a.m. the Progress 68 resupply cargo craft will undock from the Pirs docking compartment. It has been there since 16th October. It will carry trash material and old gear.  On 25th April it will reenter Earth’s atmosphere and will hit over the Pacific Ocean.

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here